Switzerland Destination Guide & Country Overview

Overview | Key Info | Explore | By the Numbers | Cuisine | Culture | Historical Timeline | National Holidays | Weather & Climate | Currency

Updated: 2018-05-04.

Swiss Confederation | Confoederatio Helvetica (Latin)

Switzerland is a country located in Western Europe.

It is a landlocked country, bordered by France to the west, Germany to the north, Italy to the south, and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east. The capital is Bern, and the largest city is Zurich. Two-thirds of the country is fluent in German, with French, Italian, and Romansh being the other three official languages.

Switzerland is home to several large cities with unique history, culture and architecture, as well as some beautiful bucolic vistas. The Swiss Alps are world-renowned for excellent skiing and other winter sporting activities. Numerous churches and cathedrals dot the country, as well as many other architecturally-significant structures and buildings.

Switzerland is made up of 26 cantons, which are basically states that make up the overall federal state of Switzerland:

Zurich | Bern | Lucerne | Uri | Schwyz | Obwalden | Nidwalden | Glarus | Zug | Fribourg | Solothurn | Basel-Stadt | Basel-Landschaft | Schaffhausen | Appenzell Ausserrhoden | Appenzell Innerrhoden | St. Gallen | Graubünden | Aargau | Thurgau | Ticino | Vaud | Valais | Neuchâtel | Geneva | Jura

On 20 March 2017, the United Nations declared their “International Day of Happiness” and released a related “World Happiness Report” rating countries from happiest to saddest. Switzerland came in at #4!

flag of Switzerland

Send this to a friend