South Sudan Destination Guide & Country Overview

Overview | Key Info | Explore | By the Numbers | Cuisine | Culture | Historical Timeline | National Holidays | Weather & Climate | Currency

Updated: 2018-05-04.

Republic of South Sudan

South Sudan is one of the newest countries, having recently gained independence in July of 2011. It is such a new country, that many places and people still consider it to be part of Sudan.

It is located in the center of Africa, a bit north of the equator, and is surrounded by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya, Uganda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, the Central African Republic to the west and Sudan to the north. Sudan was Africa’s largest country by land area until the split.

Juba is currently the capital of South Sudan, but there are efforts and plans underway to possibly move the capital to Ramciel, as it is more centrally-located. Juba is also the largest city in the country, located in the southern portion of South Sudan.

A main tributary of the Nile River, the White Nile, also passes through the country, and many of its most vibrant and populous towns and villages are on its banks. Much of the landscape is tropical, and the country contains many lush jungles and rain forests throughout. Mt. Kinyeti, at 10,456 feet (3,187 m), is the highest point in South Sudan, located in the Imatong Mountains near the Ugandan border.

South Sudan is still chaotically trying to come into its own. There is still fighting everywhere, and disease is not uncommon. However, for the adventurous traveler or the culture fiend who is willing to overlook the risks involved, South Sudan has plenty to offer, unchanged traditions, untouched grounds, undiscovered beauty.

flag of South Sudan

Send this to a friend