New Zealand: Overview

Overview | Key Info | Explore | By the Numbers | Cuisine | Culture | Historical Timeline | Dates & Holidays | Weather & Climate | Currency

Updated: 2017-03-20.

New Zealand | Aotearoa (Māori)

New Zealand is an archipelago nation in the southern Pacific Ocean in the Oceania domain. Located southeast of Australia, New Zealand is made up of two main islands – the North Island (Te Ika-a-Māui) and the South Island (Te Waipounamu) – and several hundred smaller islands.

On 20 March 2017, the United Nations declared their “International Day of Happiness” and released a related “World Happiness Report” rating countries from happiest to saddest. New Zealand came in at #8!

flag of New Zealand

Send this to a friend