Ecuador Destination Guide & Country Overview

Overview | Key Info | Explore | By the Numbers | Cuisine | Culture | Historical Timeline | National Holidays | Weather & Climate | Currency | Spanish Language Learning

Updated: 2018-05-04.

Republic of Ecuador | República del Ecuador

Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador, is a country in western South America. It is bordered by Colombia on the northeast, Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west.

Ecuador also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 1,000 km (620 mi) west of the mainland. Ecuador gets its name from the equator, which it straddles. Quito is the capital, and Guayaquil is the largest city.

flag of Ecuador

Send this to a friend