Dauntless JaunterExplore • Educate • Experience • Enlighten

Barbados Travel Guide: Country & Destination Information for Visiting


Barbados travel guide and destination overview of the country. Key information, general overview, and more for travelers to Barbados.

Barbados is a tiny island country in the eastern Caribbean region. It is part of the Lesser Antilles (aka the Caribbees), which is an island chain forming an arc in the Caribbean Sea.

It has just over a quarter-million inhabitants, and its capital and largest city is Bridgetown.

Though Barbados is a sovereign country, it was once under British rule, and has opted to stay within The Commonwealth, a voluntary association of 54 independent countries, most of which were formerly under British rule; thus, Queen Elizabeth II, the Queen of the UK, is also the Queen of Barbados. Barbados is divided into regions called parishes. The areas are called parishes because of Barbados’ history with the Church of England; there are 11 parishes which make up the country.

Also, with Barbados being the farthest to the east of all the Caribbean islands, it is also a safer bet to travel to during the autumn hurricane season, as the hurricanes typically tend to pass west of the island.

flag of Barbados

Barbados Travel Information & Key Points

General points to know about the country of Barbados – demographics, important ages, phone numbers, key statistics, and more, whether you’re traveling there or not.

Capital: Bridgetown (& largest city)

Population: 277,821 (2010 census)

Language(s): English, Bajan

Governor-General: Dame Sandra Mason

Prime Minister: Mia Mottley

Currency: Barbadian Dollar (BBD)

Area: 439 km2 (166 mi2)

Dialing Code: +1 -246

Time Zone: Eastern Caribbean (UTC-4)

Demonym: Barbadian, Bajan (what is a demonym?)

Endonym: Barbados (their name for their country)

Emergency Number: 211

Drinking Age: 16

Smoking Age: 18

Age of Consent: 16

Drives on the: Left

Electricity & Adapter: 115 V, 50 Hz, Plug Types A / B (define)

ISO Country Code: BB

Dauntless Jaunter