Angola Destination Guide & Country Overview

Overview | Key Info | Explore | By the Numbers | Cuisine | Culture | Historical Timeline | National Holidays | Weather & Climate | Currency

Updated: 2018-05-04.

Republic of Angola | República de Angola | Repubilika ya Ngola

Angola is the 7th largest country in Africa by area, located in the south of the African continent. The Atlantic Ocean makes up its entire western border, while the Democratic Republic of the Congo is to its north, Zambia to its east, and Namibia is to the south. Part of Angola, Cabinda, is separate from the rest as an exclave province to the north; Cabinda borders both the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Republic of the Congo.

The Portuguese colonized the area, and its influence remains quite strong today; Portuguese remains the national language, though there are six other officially recognized languages: Kikongo, Chokwe, Umbundu, Kimbundu, Nganguela, and Kwanyama.

flag of Angola

Send this to a friend