Updated: 2017-03-27.

Continents, in geography, are the large landmasses that the world is divided into. By convention, it is generally-accepted that there are seven continents, though geographers and others have different definitions as to what constitutes one.

The continents are (generally accepted to be), from largest to smallest: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia.

Glossary Square Image
« Back to Glossary Index

Send this to a friend