AirAsia ASEAN Pass logosSoutheast Asia is already quite the backpacker’s paradise: cheap costs, delicious foods, an abundance of history, hundreds of cultures, etc. But now, a new deal lets travelers hop around between cities in the ASEAN community for just $160!

The ASEAN countries (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) are made up of ten Southeast Asian countries, including: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, and Vietnam. And with a special deal from AirAsia, you can visit all of these countries for pennies on the dollar.

AirAsia is a Malaysian-owned airline that is large enough to include subsidiaries throughout Southeast Asia. It tries to follow a budget-travel style similar to Norwegian. Now, they’ve rolled out a travel pass that allows travel between city pairs within these ASEAN countries on a credit system.

There are two tiers of their new AirAsia Asean Pass: For $160, you get 10 credits with up to 30 days of validity; for $290, you get 20 credits with 60 days of validity. Now, you can fly to all 10 countries, it seems, for only $160 – an irrefutable bargain. However, some city pairs cost more than one credit each; other flights cost three credits.

Here’s an example:

AirAsia ASEAN Pass examples

For the complete breakdown of the city pairs and credit cost between cities, check out their website:

*Photos taken from AirAsia site.

Updated: 2017-04-13
Reason: Migration of site from the old, long URL ( to this long-overdue shorter one 🙂 (we may have updated some typos or metadata while we were at it)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here